Rainbow Kit Kat cake

I am no baker by far but have you seen the costs of birthday cakes these days. I almost fell out of my chair when a baker quoted me R750 for a 3tier  fairy cake and R450 for a Mickey 1tier cake. and then our local supermarket charges R250 for a plain cake with a Mickey ricepaper print out. Oh my word.. so i decided to take matters into my own hands and make a cake i know to be flop proof. My 8min microwave cake.

I searched pinterest for ideas and wanted to combine 2 ideas. the rainbow colour cake and then as my frosting never comes out the right consistancy I thought the Kit Kat idea would be the perfect solution to my problems.

Ingredients

2 eggs
1 tsp Vanilla Essence
60ml Oil
gel food colouring (its actually a chocolate cake but i substitute the 2.5tbsp cocoa with gel food colouring)
250ml Self raising flour
250ml Sugar
250ml Boiling water
Pinch of salt

Frosting

250ml Icing sugar
1-2 tablespoons margerine
dash of milk as needed
Lemon juice (optional)

Decoration

5 Kit Kat slabs
500g pack of Smarties ( though i cannot lie. i went to my closets sweet warehouse and they had smartie look alikes and these were cheaper than the actual smarties. I then bought 2 boxes of smarties to add to the fake smarties and no-one was the wiser.)

How to make:

1. Mix all ingredients together.
2. Place in a plastic ice-cream container
3. Microwave on high for 8 minutes

This recipe will make enough for one layer. So for each batch i used a different colour gel food colouring. Thansk to a suggestion of a follwer of my post, Nelia, about using gel food colouring i went to go get some at my closest baking store and the results were fantastic. the colours were so vibrant, would have never achieved it with normal store bought liquid food colouring.

I am useless whe it comes to frosting so just made my best butter icing. Cup of icing sugar with a table spoon of butter and creamed it with a bit of milk and a dash of lemon juice to make it not too sweet. Start on the sides. As i apply the frosting i cover the area with Kit Kat. as it sticks better when the frosting is wet. you can do single Kit kat next to each other but it goes faster when you break the Kit Kat into 2’s. Then repeat until all the sides are covered. to keep it in place, place a ribbon around the cake. it also makes the cake prettier.

Put frosting on the top of the cake and cover it with smarties. And you are done.

 

Leave a Reply

